About the Journal

Focus and Scope

Plant Tissue culture scientists in Bangladesh felt an urgent need to establish a separate organization to promote research in tissue culture and related areas and popularize the applied side of this science for the economic benefit of the country. Thus came into being in 1991, the Bangladesh Association for Plant Tissue Culture (BAPTC) with a biannual journal captioned, PTC Journal to publish scholarly research articles of its members and at the same time keeping it open to scientists outside the country. BAPTC soon realized that tissue culture without genetic engineering has limited uses; so in order to keep abreast with modern trends, the Association's name was changed to BAPTC&B; so also the name of the journal as PTC&B journal to include research articles in specific areas of plant biotechnology. The journal also publishes review articles and has been gradually introducing new features such as 'News and Views' and 'Book Review'.

Early in the century, most of the journals in the developed countries began publishing articles online. BAPTC&B followed suit and since 2002 the journal has been publishing articles online and full articles are now accessible free of cost to browsers in the Association's website (http://www.baptcb.org). The journal is now in its 18th year of publication and is Indexed by Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS Previews, Elsevier Bibliographic Databases.

The journal has proved a regional publishing medium for scientists of the Indian subcontinent, the South East and the Middle East countries, Africa to publish their tissue culture and molecular biology related research findings.

Publication Frequency

The journal is biannual and is published in June and December.

Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

Editorial Board (2020 - 2022)

Chief Editor Emeritus
Professor Dr. A. S. Islam
C/o. Department of Botany
University of Dhaka, Dhaka – 1000
Email: ahmedsham24@gmail.com

Chief Editor

Professor Dr. M. M. Haque
C/o. Department of Botany
University of Dhaka, Dhaka-1000
Email: mmhaque_40@yahoo.com

Executive Editor

Professor Dr. Rakha Hari Sarker
Department of Botany
University of Dhaka, Dhaka-1000
Email: rhsarker2000@yahoo.co.uk

Associate Executive Editors

Professor Dr. Aparna Islam
Department of Mathematics & Natural Sciences
Biotechnology Programme, BRAC University
66, Mohakhali, Dhaka-1212
Email: aparnai20@yahoo.com

Professor Dr. Mohammad Nurul Islam
Department Department of Botany
University of Dhaka, Dhaka-1000
Email: mnurul@du.ac.bd


Professor Dr. M. Monzur Hossain
Department of Botany
Rajshahi University, Rajshahi-6205
Email: monzurhb@gmail.com

Professor Dr. Zeba I. Seraj
Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
University of Dhaka, Dhaka-1000
Email: zebai@du.ac.bd

Professor Dr. M. Imdadul Hoque
Department of Botany
University of Dhaka, Dhaka-1000
Email: mimdadul07@yahoo.com

Professor Dr. Mihir Lal Saha
Department of Botany
University of Dhaka, Dhaka-1000
Email: sahaml@yahoo.com

Dr. Md. Al-Amin
House No. 52, Road No. 2
Aftabnagar (Jaharul Islam City)
Gulshan, Dhaka-1212
Email: alamin09@yahoo.com

Professor Dr. Md. Mofazzal Hossain
Department of Horticulture
Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University (BSMRAU)
Salna, Gazipur-1703, Bangladesh
Email: mdmofazzal.bsmrau@gmail.com

Professor Dr. Md. Shahidul Haque
Biotechnology Department
Bangladesh Agricultural University
Mymensingh, Bangladesh
Email: haquems@yahoo.com

Professor Dr. Md. Al-Forkan
Department of Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology
Chittagong University, Chittagong-4331
Email: alforkangeb@cu.ac.bd

Dr. Kuasha Mahmud
Chief Scientific Officer & Head
Biotechnology Division
Bangladesh Sugarcrop Research Institute (BSRI)
Ishurdi, Pabna, Bangladesh
Email: kmahmud31@yahoo.com

Dr. Md. Enamul Hoque
Principal Scientific Officer & Head
Biotechnology Division
Bangladesh Rice Res. Institute
Joydebpur, Gazipur-1701
Email: hoqueh2003@yahoo.com

Professor Dr. Md. Ekramul Hoque
Department of Biotechnology
Sher-E-Bangla Agricultural University
Dhaka-1207, Bangladesh
Email: ekramul.sau@gmail.com

Dr. Md. Abdullah Yousuf Akhond
Chief Scientific Officer and Head
Biotechnology Division
Bangladesh Agricultural Research Institute (BARI)
Joydebpur, Gazipur, Bangladesh
Email: a_akhond@hotmail.com

Professor Dr. Md. Shamsul Haque Prodhan
Department of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology
SUST, Sylhet-3114
Email: shamsulhp-btc@sust.edu/ shamsulhp@gmail.com

Advisory Board
Professor Dr. Mineo Minami
Shinchu University, Nagano

Narendra Tuteja, Ph.D., D.Sc.
Visiting Scientist and Former Group Leader
International Centre for Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology
Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi

Professor Dr. Lianming Gao
Kunming Institute of Botany, Kunming

Professor Dr. Uemura
Iwate University, Morioka

Dr. Kiran K Sharma
Deputy Director General-Research
Director, CRP GLDC
Theme Leader-Agribusiness and Innovation Platform
International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT)
Patancheru 502 324, Telangana State